Ecuador simplifies patent system

The Patent Cooperation Treaty (PCT) has been in effect in Ecuador since May 7, 2001. It was adopted at the conference held in Washington in June 1970 within the framework of the BIRPI (the predecessor of OMPI), which entered into effect on January 24, 1978, and was implemented on June 1 of the following year. At present there are 111 Member States of the PCT, including Ecuador, which acceded to the Treaty in October 2000.

Unlock unlimited access to all Latin Lawyer content